Contact Us
Fairfield Daily Voice serves Fairfield & Southport

Menu

Fairfield Daily Voice serves Fairfield & Southport

Nearby Towns

events

Graphic Novelist Opens Cover On Early Reader Book At Fairfield U Bookstore

John Patrick Green will present his new book, "Hippopotamister" on Saturday at the downtown Fairfield University bookstore.
John Patrick Green will present his new book, "Hippopotamister" on Saturday at the downtown Fairfield University bookstore. Photo Credit: Contributed photo

FAIRFIELD, Conn. – Author/illustrator John Patrick Green will present, “Hippopotamister,” his new graphic novel for young readers, on Saturday at 4 p.m. at the downtown Fairfield University bookstore, 1499 Post Road, Fairfield.

Green will give an interactive PowerPoint presentation and drawing demonstration.

"At its core, ‘Hippopotamister’ is a touching friendship tale in the tradition of ‘Frog and Toad’ and ‘Robot Dreams.’ But this book will also serve as the perfect roadway for those kids looking for a path from picture books to graphic novels,” said Nick Bruel, creator of the “Bad Kitty” series.

This event is free and open to the public and perfect for kids in kindergarten to third grade.

The zoo isn't what it used to be. It's run-down and falling apart. Hippo hardly ever gets any visitors. So he decides to set off for the outside with his friend Red Panda. To make it in the human world, Hippo will have to become a Hippopotamister: he'll have to act like a human, get a job and wear a hat as a disguise. He's a good employee, whether he's a construction worker, a hair stylist or a sous chef. But what he really needs is a job where he can be himself.

Green grew up on Long Island and went to the School of Visual Arts for graphic design. He is the illustrator of the graphic novels “Jax Epoch,” and “Quicken Forbidden” and “Teen Boat!,” both with writer Dave Roman. He's also worked on comics for Disney, Nickelodeon, DreamWorks, Scholastic and DC Comics. He lives in Brooklyn with zero cats and way too many LEGOs.

Copies of “Hippopotamister” will be available for purchase and signing at the downtown bookstore event.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Fairfield Daily Voice!

Serves Fairfield & Southport

This is a one time message inviting you to keep in touch

Get important news about your town as it happens.