FAIRFIELD COUNTY, Conn. -- The Connecticut State Police is taking part in a statewide program with the Connecticut Department of Transportation Highway Safety Office and local police departments to continue a crackdown on motor vehicle operators who text or talk on a hand-held mobile device while operating vehicles.
Troopers are once again participating in the “U Drive. U Text. U Pay.” campaign, this time through Aug. 16.
The state reported an 8 percent drop in mobile phone use by drivers during a similar April crackdown. Nearly 16,000 citations were issued then to motorists who ignored Connecticut’s laws prohibiting distracted driving, according to a press release. That figure is four times as many citations in one month than any other month in which a specialized enforcement campaign did not occur, according to a press release.
Under Connecticut’s cell phone and texting law, violations involve fines ranging from $150 for a first offense to $300 for a second violation and $500 for each subsequent violation.
“The choice is up to each driver on Connecticut’s roads. You might choose to engage in potentially deadly behavior by using your phone. There will be consequences in the form of a substantial fine, a motor vehicle accident or both,” said State Police Col. Brian Meraviglia in a press release. “Your Connecticut State Troopers hope that you will choose safety first and ditch the distractions while driving.”
Click here to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.